PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

UGC committee to regulate fee for medical courses in Deemed Universities

New Delhi, July 19th, 2018

Pursuant to the Order dated 26.04.2018 of Hon'ble Madras High Court in Writ Petition Nos. 14232 and 17778 of 2017, University Grants Commission (UGC) has constituted a Committee consisting of Prof. R.C. Deka, Former Director, AIIMS, New Delhi (Chairman), Dr. O.P. Kalra, Vice-Chancellor Pt. B.D. Sharma University of Health Sciences Rohtak; Prof. (Ms.) Saroj Chooramani Gopal, Former VC, King George Medical University, Lucknow; Prof. Mahesh Verma Director, Maulana Azad Institute of Dental Sciences, New Delhi; Prof. Dr. Ajay S. Chandanwale, Dean, Byramjee Jeejeebhoy Government Medical College & Sassoon General Hospitals, Pune; Shri S.K. Ray, Former Additional Secretary & Financial Advisor, MHRD and nominee of each of Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Dental Council of India, Medical Council of India and Ministry of Human Resource Development to regulate the fees chargeable by self-financed Deemed to be Universities in Medical and Dental Courses.

This information was given by the Minister of State (HRD), Dr. Satya Pal Singh today in a written reply to a Rajya Sabha question.

NB/AKJ/AK/ Deemed Universities