RAJYA SABHA

"8" pib.nic.in

PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ***

Granting autonomy to Universities and Colleges

New Delhi, July 19th, 2018

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has informed that it has decided to grant Autonomy to 76 Educational Institutions including 62 Universities (5 Central Universities, 21 State Universities, 34 Deemed to be Universities and 2 Private Universities) and 14 Colleges across the Country. These Universities/Institutions have been selected on the basis of National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) ratings. The Institutions having a NAAC score of 3.5 and above, have been placed in Category I, the Institutions having a NAAC score of 3.26 to 3.5 have been placed in Category II and the remaining are placed in Category III.

Granting Autonomy to institutions considering their applications is a continuous process. The updated information regarding names of Universities and Colleges which have been granted Autonomy, so far have been given in the Annexure.

ANNEXURE

S.	Name of the University	Category I	Category II
No.			
	CENTRAL UNIVERSITIES		
1.	Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi	Ι	
2.	University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad	I	
3.	Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi	_	П
4.	Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh		Ш
5	The English and Foreign Languages University, Telengana		П
5	STATE UNIVERSITIES		11
1.	Jadavpur University, Jadavpur, Kolkata	Ι	
2.	Algappa University, Karaikudi	I	
3.	NALSAR University of Law, Telangana	I	
4.	SavitribaiPhule Pune University, Pune	I	
5.	Andhra University, Visakhapatnam	Ι	
6.	National Law University Delhi, Dwarka	Ι	
7.	Utkal University, Bhubaneswar	Ι	
8.	Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra	Ι	
9.	Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati	Ι	
10	Osmania University, Hyderabad	Ι	
11.	Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar	Ι	
12.	University of Jammu, Jammu	Ι	
13.	University of Mysore, Mysuru		II
14.	Anna University, Chennai		П
15.	Punjab University, Chandigarh		П
16.	Kakatiya University, Warangal		II
17.	Punjabi University, Patiala		II
18.	Rajiv Gandhi University of Law, Patiala		II
19.	National Law University Odisha, Cuttack		II
20.	University of Madras, Chennai		II
21.	Guru Jambheshwar University of Science & Technology, Hisar		II

	Deemed to be Universities		
1.	Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai, Maharashtra.	Ι	
2.	Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh.	Ι	
3.	Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management (GITAM) Visakhapatnam, AP.	Ι	
4.	Narsee Monjee Institute of Studies, Mumbai, Maharashtra.	Ι	
5.	Sri Ramachandra Medical College and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.	Ι	
6.	Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth, Pune, Maharashtra	Ι	
7.	Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA), Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu.	Ι	
8.	Symbiosis International, Pune, Maharashtra.	Ι	
9.	Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai, Maharashtra.	Ι	
10.	Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences, Wardha, Maharashtra.	Ι	
11.	Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, Maharashtra.	Ι	
12.	Sumandeep Vidyapeeth, Piparia, Vadodara, Gujarat.	Ι	
13.	Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh.	Ι	
14.	Bharati Vidyapeeth, Pune, Maharashtra.	Ι	
15.	Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, Maharashtra.	Ι	
16.	Indian Institute of Foreign Trade, Delhi.	Ι	
17.	Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for advacned Scientific Research, Bengaluru, Karnataka.	Ι	
18.	Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi.	Ι	
19.	TERI School of Advanced Studies, New Delhi.		II
20.	Jain University, Bangalore, Karnataka.		II
21.	Vellore Institute of Technology, Vellore, Tamil Nadu.		II
22.	Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Manipal, Karnataka.		II
23.	KLE Academy of Higher Education and Research, Belgaum, Karnataka.		II
24.	Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu		II
25.	Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar, Odisha.		II
26.	JSS Academy of Higher Education & Research, Mysore, Karnataka.		II
27.	ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education and Research, Hyderabad, Telangana.		II
28.	Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.		II
29.	Padmashree Dr. D.Y. Patll Vidyapeeth, Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra.		II
30.	The Indian Law Institute, New Delhi.		II
31.	Siksha 'O' Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar, Odisha.		II
32.	Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.		II
33.	SRM Institute of Science & Technology, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.		II
34.	Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani, Rajasthan.		II
	Private Universities		
1.	O.P. Jindal Global University Sonipat, Haryana.		II
2.	PanditDeendayal Petroleum University Gandhinagar, Gujarat.		II

	Colleges granted Autonomy
1.	YashvantraoChavan Institute of Science, Satara, 533, Sadar Bazar, Satara Maharashtra-415 001 affiliated to Shivaji
	University, Kolhapur
2.	BonamVenkataChalamayya Engineering College, Odalarevu-553 210, Allavaram Mandal, East Godavari Dist., Andhra
	Pradesh affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh
3.	G. Narayanamma Institute of Technology & Science (For Women), 8-1-297/2/I, Shaikpet, Hyderabad-500 104 Telangana
	affiliated to JNTU Hyderabad, Telangana
4.	Vivekanand College, 2130/E, Tarabai Park, Kolhapur-416 003 (Maharastra) affiliated to Shivaji University, Kolhapur
5.	Sri Vasavi Engineering College, Pedatadepalli, Tadepalligudem-534 101 (West Godavari Dist.,) (Andhra Pradesh) affiliated
	to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada
6.	Sri SivasubramaniyaNadar College of Engineering, Rajiv Gandhi Salai, Kalavakkam-603 110 (Tamilnadu) affiliated to
	Anna University, Chennai
7.	Jai Hind College Basantsing Institute of Science & J.T. Lalvani College of Commerce, 23-24 Backbay Reclamation, A-
	Road, Churchgate, Mumbai-400 020 affiliated to University of Mumbai, Mumbai-400 032
8.	Shri Vile ParleKelavaniMandal'sMithibai College of Arts, Chauhan Institute of AmrutbenJivanlal College of Commerce
	and Economics, Vile Parle (West), Mumbai-400 056 affiliated to University of Mumbai
9.	Silicon Institute of Technology, Silicon Hills, Patia, Bhubaneswar affiliated to BijuPatnaik University of Technology,
	Rourkela, Odisha
10.	Raghu Institute of Technology, Dakamarri (V), Bheemunipatnam (M), Visakhapatnam (Dist.,) Andhra Pradesh-531 162
	affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh
11.	Siddartha Institute of Science and Technology, Siddharth Nagar, Narayanavaram Road, Puttur-517 583 (Andhra Pradesh)
	affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Ananthapur
12.	SIES College of Arts, Science & Commerce, Plot 83/84 & 106/107 Sion (West) Mumbai-400 002 (MS) affiliate to
	University of Mumbai, Mumbai-400 002
13.	RayatSikhshanSansthan'sKarmaveerBhauraoPatil College, Sector-15A, Vashi, Navi Mumbai-400 703 affiliated to
	University of Mumbai
14.	R.J. College of Arts, Science & Commerce, Opp. Ralway Station, Mumbai-400 086 (Maharashtra) affiliated to University of
	Mumbai, Fort Mumbai-400 032

This information was given by the Minister of State (HRD), Dr. Satya Pal Singh today in a written reply to a Rajya Sabha question.