No.6-2/2013-U.Policy Government of India Ministry of Human Resource Development Department of Higher Education (U.Policy Section)

No.537-C. Shastri Bhayan, New Delhi Dated:5 August, 2013

· Chairman

ORDER

Subject: Constitution of a Committee to suggest a roadmap for establishment of Universities for Research & Innovation

The Ministry of Human Resource Development introduced the Universities for Research & Innovation Bill, 2012 in the Parliament (Lok Sabha) on 21.5.2012. The Bill provides for establishment and incorporation of Universities for Research and Innovation which would be at the fount of making India a global knowledge hub. They would set benchmarks for excellence for other institutions of higher learning through path-breaking and promoting synergies between teaching, learning and research.

- The Parliamentary Standing Committee (PSC) on Human Resource Development had submitted its report on the Bill. The PSC has raised some issues on certain features of the Universities for Research & Innovation Bill. The Hon'ble Minister for Human Resource Development chaired a consultative meeting with Vice Chancellors, Heads of Private Institutions / Universities as also stakeholders on establishment of Universities for Research and Innovation.
- The Government has therefore decided to constitute a Committee for recommending certain changes to the provisions of the Universities for Research and Innovation Bill, 2012 in the context of the observations / comments of the Parliamentary Standing Committee's report on the Bill and suggest a roadmap for future. The composition of the Chairman and members of the Committee shall be as follows:

Prof. Ramakrishna Ramaswamy, Vice Chancellor

1.	University of Hyderabad	. Onamilan
2.	Shri Aromar Revi, Director, IIHS	: Member
3.	Shri Ajay Batra, Azim Premji Foundation	: Member
4.	Shri Deepak Chandra, Deputy Dean, ISB, Hyderabad	: Member
5.	Prof. Brijendra Nath Jain, Vice-Chancellor	: Member
	BITS, Pilani	
6.	Prof. C. Rajkumar, Vice-Chancellor,	: Member
	O.P.Jindal University, Sonipat, Haryana	-
7.	Dr. Rao Aiyagari, Senior Adviser, PHFI, New Delhi	: Member
8.	Dr. G. Mohan Gopal, Director, RGICS, New Delhi	: Member
9.	Shri R.P.Sisodia, Joint Secretary (HE),	: Member
	Department of Higher Education, MoHRD, New Delhi	
10.	Shri Vikram Sahay, Joint Secretary, UGC	:Member-Convener

1.8.12

- 4. The terms of reference of the Committee will be:
 - a) To examine the report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Human Resource Development on the Universities for Research & Innovation Bill, 2012
 - b) To examine the modalities for establishment of Universities for Research and Innovation and suggest a road-map for establishment of such universities by reputed promoters.
 - c) To recommend changes in the provisions of the Universities for Research & Innovation Bill, 2012 in the context of the observations / comments of the PSC on HRD
- 5. The Committee shall be provided secretarial and other assistance for holding meetings by the University Grants Commission. This will include expenditure on travel and accommodation of the Committee as per Government of India norms. The TA/DA of Government representatives will be borne by their respective Ministry / Department.

6. The Committee may submit its report / recommendations within a period of three months from the date of its first meeting.

(Harpreet Singh) Director (U.Policy) Tel.No.23387934

To

- 1. Prof. Ramakrishna Ramaswamy, Vice Chancellor, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
- Shri Aromar Revi, Director, IIHS, New Delhi
- 3. Shri Ajay Batra, Azim Premji Foundation, Azim Premji Foundation, 134, Doddakannelli, Sarjapur Road, Bangalore 560035
- 4. Shri Deepak Chandra, Deputy Dean, Indian School of Business, Gadchibowli, Hyderabad -500 032
- 5. Prof. Brijendra Nath Jain, Vice-Chancellor, BITS, Pilani, Vidya Vihar Campus, Rajasthan
- 6. Prof. C. Rajkumar, Vice-Chancellor, O.P. Jindal University, Sonipat Narela Road, Sonipat, Haryana-131001
- 7. Dr. Rao Aiyagari, Senior Adviser, Public Health Foundation of India, New Delhi New Delhi 110070
- Dr. G. Mohan Gopal, Director, Rajiv Gandhi Institute for Contemporary Studies (RGICS), Rajiv Gandhi Foundation, Jawahar Bhawan, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi - 110001
- Shri R.P.Sisodia, Joint Secretary (HE), Department of Higher Education, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi
- 10. Shri Vikram Sahay, Joint Secretary, University Grants Commission, New Delhi
- 11. Dr. Akhilesh Gupta, Secretary, University Grants Commission, New Delhi.

Copy to:

- 1. PS to HRM/MOS(HRD-ST)/MOS(HRD-JP)
- Sr.PPS to Secretary(HE)/ Secretary (SE&L)
- All Joint Secretaries in Department of Higher Education
- Webmaster (for uploading the same on the Ministry's website for general information)

CHIS(09) Canjing 08:08:1313