F.No. 7-2/2021-U1A Government of India Ministry of Education Department of Higher Education

Dated the November, 2021

## Chairman, University Grants Commission- Call for Nominations

Nominations are sought for selection of a new Chairman of the University Grants Commission (UGC). The University Grants Commission is a statutory body with the Ministry of Education, Government of India, entrusted with the task of determination, coordination and maintenance of standards in University education. Under the provisions of Section 5 of the UGC Act, 1956, Chairman is appointed by the Central Government.

Eminent persons with substantial experience in academics, governance and/ or professional management with proven track record of dynamic, idea centric leadership in institution building, flair for innovations and global outlook in higher education, commensurate with the responsibility and prestige of the position, may be nominated by the peers. As per sub-section (2) of section 5 of the UGC Act, 1956 the Chairman shall be chosen from among persons who are not officers of the Central Government or of any State Government. No self nominations will be accepted.

Sub-Section (1) of Section 6 of the UGC Act, 1956 provides that the Chairman shall hold office for a term of five years or until he/she attains the age of 65 years, which ever is earlier. Nominees should be preferably below the age of 60 years.

Nominations along with the nominees' curriculum vitae may be emailed to the Director (UGC), Ministry of Education at email ID: **smita96.srivastava@gov.in**, on **or before 30<sup>th</sup> November, 2021.** Hard copy of the curriculum vitae will not be accepted. The Search-cum-Selection Committee, nominated for selection to the post of Chairman, UGC, shall reserve the right to consider persons of eminence outside the list of such nominations. In accordance with the procedure evolved by the Committee, nominees would be short listed based on agreed parameters and the short-listed nominees may be invited for interaction with the Committee.

\*\*\*\*\*

C. Ag M