Indian National Commission for Cooperation with UNESCO Government of India Ministry of Human Resources Development Department of Higher Education

•••••

UNESCO Headquarters, Paris has invited nominations for the Felix Houphouet - Boigny Peace Prize. Relevant details are on the next page.

Nominations should be forwarded to the Indian National Commission for Cooperation with UNESCO (INCCU) latest by 11th April, 2014 (and should not be sent directly to UNESCO) at the following address for onward transmission to UNESCO, Paris.

Mrs. Veena Dunga
Under Secretary (ICC)
Room No. 203 'C' Wing
Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road
Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi – 110001
Contact No. Telefax: 23384861
inc.edu@nic.in
veena.dunga@nic.in



United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization FUS 2/892/2014

The Minister of Human Resource Development, Communications & Information Technology New Delhi (India)

04 FFK 2014

Ref.:

CL/4044

Subject: Nominations for the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize

Sir/Madam,

I have pleasure in inviting your Government to submit nominations for the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize, which was established pursuant to 25 C/Resolution 23, adopted by the General Conference at its 25th session in 1989.

As indicated in the attached extracts from the General Regulations (Annex I), the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize is intended to honour individuals, bodies or institutions that have made a significant contribution to promoting, seeking safeguarding or maintaining peace.

The Prize, which comprises a cash award of 150,000 United States Dollars, a gold medal and a peace diploma, is awarded every year to one or more prizewinners by an international Jury composed of eminent persons and chaired by Mr Mário Soares, former President of the Portuguese Republic.

Aware as I am of your Government's interest in the cause of peace and in the defence of human rights and democracy, I should be grateful if you would kindly nominate candidates worthy of receiving this outstanding international distinction.

They should be men, women or institutions that have acquired an international reputation on account of their major contribution to the promotion of peace, democracy and human rights.

S. Bina Jahrahu

You will find attached a list of the winners from previous years (Annex !!).

I also am enclosing a form for presentation of candidature (Annex III), which you are requested kindly to return duly completed, by 30 April 2014, to Mr Alioune Traoré, Executive Secretary of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize, UNESCO (Room B1.06), 1 rue Miollis, 75732 Paris Cedex 15 (France).

Accept, Sir/Madam, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Irina Bokova Director-General

Encs: 3

cc National Commissions for UNESCO Permanent Delegations to UNESCO

ANNEX I

EXTRACTS FROM THE GENERAL REGULATIONS OF THE FÉLIX HOUPHOUËT-BOIGNY PEACE PRIZE

[...]

Article I - Purpose

The Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize is intended to honour living individuals and active public or private bodies or institutions that have made a significant contribution to promoting, seeking, safeguarding or maintaining peace in conformity with the Charter of the United Nations and the Constitution and UNESCO.

Article II - The Prize

- (a) The Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize may be awarded each year by an international Jury.
- (b) The value of the Prize shall be \$150,000 United States Dollars. If several prizewinners are designated, the amount of the Prize shall be shared equally among them.

[...]

Article VI - Nominations

[...]

In addition to Member States and the above-mentioned non-governmental organizations, the following may submit nominations:

- (i) members of the Jury during their deliberations;
- (ii) previous winners of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize;
- (iii) academies or academicians;
- (iv) centres and foundations specializing in areas relating to the search for peace;
- (v) institutes of international law;
- (vi) members of the International Court of Justice;
- (vii) members of parliaments and governments;
- (viii) associations or organizations working to promote peace, human rights and the spread of democratic values in the world, with due respect for the Constitution of UNESCO and the Charter of the United Nations;
- (ix) university rectors and university professors of history, political sciences and law;
- (x) Nobel prizewinners.
- (c) The Jury may, however, award the Prize to any living individual or active institution or body of its choice not included in the list of candidates.

[...]

Article VII - Awarding ceremony of the Prize

(a) The Prize shall be presented at an official ceremony to be held at UNESCO Headquarters, or at any other place proposed to the Director-General by the Jury, the Sponsor or the Patron of the Prize.

CL/4044 Annex I – page 2

- (b) The Director-General may invite any person, institution or association whose presence would add lustre to the ceremony.
- (c) The Director-General shall present to the prizewinner(s) a cheque or cheques of a total value of 150,000 United States Dollars, or of an equivalent value in another currency.
- (d) The President of the Jury shall present to the prizewinner(s) a gold medal and UNESCO's Peace Diploma.

[...]

ANNEX II

WINNERS OF THE FÉLIX HOUPHOUËT-BOIGNY PEACE PRIZE

1991 Nelson Mandela

President of the African National Congress

South Africa

and

Frederik W. De Klerk

President of the Republic of South Africa

1992 The Hague Academy of International Law

Netherlands

1993 Yitzhak Rabin

Prime Minister of the State of Israel

Shimon Peres

Minister of Foreign Affairs of the State of Israel

and

Yasser Arafat

President of the Palestinian National Authority

1994 H.M. Juan Carlos !

King of Spain

and

Jimmy Carter

Former President of the United States of America

1995 Ms Sadako Ogata (intuitu personae)

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

together with

The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

1996 Alvaro Arzú Irigoyen

President of the Republic of Guatemala

and

Comandante Rolando Morán

Representative of the National Guatemalan Revolutionary Unity

1997 Fidel V. Ramos

President of the Republic of the Philippines

and

Nur Misuari

Chairman of the Moro National Liberation Front

Philippines

Sheikh Hasina

1998

2013

François Hollande

President of the French Republic

Prime Minister of the People's Republic of Bangladesh and George J. Mitchell American Senator Former Special Advisor to the President of the United States of America for Initiatives in Ireland Community of Sant'Egidio 1999 2000 Ms Mary Robinson United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights 2001 Prize not awarded 2002 Kav Rala Xanana Gusmão President of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste 2003 Cardinal Roger Etchegaray President Emeritus of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace and Dr Mustafa Cerić Grand Mufti of Bosnia 2004 Prize not awarded Abdoulage Wade 2005 President of the Republic of Senegal 2006 Prize not awarded 2007 -Martti Ahtisaari President of the Republic of Finland Luiz Inácio Luia da Silva 2008 President of the Federative Republic of Brazil Prize not awarded 2009 2010 The Grandmothers of the Plaza de Mayo Argentina 2011 and 2012 Prize not awarded

ANNEX III

FÉLIX HOUPHOUËT-BOIGNY PEACE PRIZE

Form for presentation of candidature

Nomination submitted by
Address
Telephone
Name of candidate(s)
Address
Telephone
Fax
Email
Profession or fields of activity
Contribution by the candidate(s) to the promotion of peace, or to the defence of democracy and human rights (two to three pages at the most).
(N. B The candidature will be considered by the Jury only on presentation of this document.)
(continue on separate sheet)

Nominations should reach Mr Alioune Traoré, Executive Secretary of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize, UNESCO (Room B1.06), 1 rue Miollis, 75732 Paris Cedex 15, France, by 30 April 2014.