Ministry of Education

IITS & NITS IN NE REGION

Posted On: 05 AUG 2024 5:02PM by PIB Delhi

Eight Central Universities have been established during the last 10 years. Central University of Andhra Pradesh (AP), Anantapur AP, Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh, Vijayanagaram AP, the Sindhu Central University Ladakh, Sammakka Sarakka Central Tribal University Telangana and Mahatma Gandhi Central University Motihari Bihar have been established and three Deemed to be Universities such as National Sanskrit University Tirupati AP, Central Sanskrit University Delhi, Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University Delhi have been converted into central universities.

Seven IITs were established in the last 10 years, namely IIT Tirupati, IIT Palakkad, IIT Bhilai, IIT Jammu, IIT Goa, IIT Dharwad while one institute i.e. ISM Dhanbad has been converted into IIT.

At present, Thirty-one NITs and an Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology (IIEST), Shibpur are functioning in the country. Eight NITs are situated in North Eastern Region, namely NIT- Agartala, Silchar, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim.

Ministry of Education under its Central Sector Scheme "Indian Knowledge Systems" has established two IKS centers at Assam University and IIT Guwahati.

The information was given by the Minister of State for Education, Dr. Sukanta Majumdar in a written reply in the Lok Sabha today.

SS/AK

(Release ID: 2042312)