TO BE PUBLISHED IN PART-I SECTION 1 OF THE EXTRAORDINARY GAZETTE OF INDIA

No.8-86-2015-L.II Government of India MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (Department of Higher Education)

Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi Dated the p4 January, 2019

NOTIFICATION

In supersession of this Ministry's notification no.8-86/2015-L.II dated 6th June, 2016, it has been decided to revise the scheme for the **Presidential** Award of Certificates of Honour in the year 1958 to honour the scholars of Sanskrit, Arabic and Persian Languages and the same was extended to Pali and Prakrit languages in 1996 which are awarded to the scholars of eminence over 60 years of age with outstanding contribution in their respective fields. Awards are also awarded to young scholars (30-45 years) which has later been named as **Maharishi Badarayan Vyas Samman award**.

- 2. From the year 2016 onwards, the scheme has been extended to provide Presidential Awards for Classical Kannada. Classical Telugu, Classical Malayalam and Classical Odia with the objective to promote classical languages. Accordingly, this scheme was notified in July 2-8, 2016 edition of the official gazette.
- 3. It is hereby notified that the broad based parameters covering all aspects of awards are as follows:

1	Name of Award	Presidential Award for scholars in Sanskrit, Pali, Prakrit, Arabic, Persian, Classical Telugu Classical Kannada, Classical Malayalam and Classical Odia
		No. of Awards for each Classical language:
2(1)	Presidential Awards for	
	scholars in:	
(i)	i) Classical Telugu	i. One Lifetime achievement award for Indian Scholar in classical Telugu (1)
		ii. One international award for life time achievement in classical language (Indian origin)(1) iii. One international award for life time achievement in classical language (Non-Indian origin (1))
(ii)	ii)Classical Kannada	i. One Lifetime achievement award for Indian Scholar in classical Kannada (1)
		ii. One international award for life time achievement in classical language (Indian origin) (1)
		iii. One international award for life time achievement in classical language (Non-Indian origin (د
(iii)	iii)Classical Malayalam,	i. One Lifetime achievement award for Indian Scholar in classical Malayalam (1)
		ii. One international award for life time achievement in classical language (Indian origin) (1)
		iii. One international award for life time achievement in classical language (Non-Indian origin (1)
(iv)	iv) Classical Odia	i) One Lifetime achievement award for Indian Scholar in classical Odiya (1)
		i. One international award for life time achievement in classical language (Indian origin) (1)
		ii. One international award for life time achievement in classical language (Non-Indian origin (1
2(2)	Maharishi Badarayan	
2(2)	Vyas Samman Award to	
	Young scholars in the	
	above said classical	
	languages in the age of	
	30-45 years.	
	i) Classical Telugu	i) Awards to five young scholars in Classical Telugu (5)
	ii)Classical Kannada	ii) Awards to five young scholars in Classical Kannada (5)
	iii)Classical Malayalam,	iii) Awards to five young scholars in Classical Malayalam (5)
	iv) Classical Odia	iv) Awards to five young scholars in Classical Odia (5)
2/21	Periodicity of Awards	Annual
2(3)	Presidential Awards for scholars in:	
	i) Sanskrit language,	i(a) Certificate of honour for Sanskrit scholars in India - 15 awards
		(b) Certificate of honour for Sanskrit scholar outside India: - 1 (International Award)
	ii) Persian language	ii) Certificate of honour for 3 scholars in Persian language - 3 awards
	iii) Arabic language	iii) Certificate of honour for 3 scholars in Arabic language - 3 awards
	iv) Pali language	iv) Certificate of honour for 1 scholar in Pali Language - 1 award

v) Certificate of honour for 1 scholar in Prakrit language



v) Prakrit language

2(4)	Maharishi Badarayan Vyas Samman Award to Young scholars in the above said languages in the age of 30-45 years.	
	i) Sanskrit language ii) Persian language iii) Arabic language iv) Pali language v) Prakrit language	i) Awards to five young scholars in Sanskrit language - 5 awards ii) Award to one young scholar in Persian language - 1 award iii) Awards to one young scholars in Arabic language - 1 award iv) Award to one young scholar in Pali language - 1 award v) Award to one young scholar in Prakrit language - 1 award
	Periodicity of Awards	Annual
3	Details of cash, amount, trophy, medal.	A certificate, a shawl and one time cash award as given below: i. Rs. 5.00 lakh each for certificate of Honour Award ii. Rs. 5.00 lakh each for life time achievement awards (including International Awards) iii. Rs. 1.00 lakh each for Maharishi Badarayan Vyas Samman awards
4	Eligibility for nomination	Scholars of eminence in respective languages for their achievements.
5	Procedure for submission of proposal for classical languages of Kannada, Telugu, Malayalam and Odia	Proposals will be invited from the following: i. All Secretaries of Government of India ii. Chief Secretaries of all State Governmentss./Union Territories iii. Education Secretaries of all State Governments /Union Territories iv. Vice Chancellors of all Indian Universities/Deemed Universities v. All Heads of Indian Missions abroad through Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) vi. All awardees of previous years vii. All Vice Chancellors of the State Universities in Andhra Pradesh., Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala and Odisha
6	Compositions of the award committee	To be constituted by Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) with eminent scholars/experts
7	Criteria of selection	The Selection Committee will scrutinize nominations received and give final recommendations for approval of Hon'ble Prime Minister and Hon'ble President.
8	Final approval of the award	Hon'ble President of India
9	Level of Presentation of award	Through any dignitary as decided by the Ministry of Human Resource Development.

(SANJAY KUMAR SINHA)
JOINT SECRETARY TO THE GOVERNMETN OF INDIA
Tel.No.23383432

To; The Manager, Government of India Press, Faridabad.

Copy to

- 1. President Secretariat, Rashtrapathi Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 2. Prime Minister's Office, South Block, New Delhi.
- 3. Cabinet Secretariat, Rashtrapathi Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 4. Ministry of Home Affairs, Public Section, North Block, New Delhi.
- 5. Ministry of Culture, Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 6. Chief Secretaries of all the State Governments/Union Territories.